A thought on History

Writing history is like trying to nail jelly to the wall.” -William Hesselline

What is the message?

I believe the author is trying to convey that like how nailing jelly to a wall will fail, trying to control what happens in your life and the world will not work either.  The world will not always listen to you and life will not go exactly as planned.  Therefore there is no point in trying; just accept it.

What does it mean to me?

To me this quote is a reminder of the undeniable reality of our lives and this world.  I agree with Hesselline because I acknowledge the fact that the world does not revolve around me and my life is not something I can fully control.  It gives me a kind of encouragement to try my best to adapt to my situations and be flexible about it.  It also reminds me of this famous line from the movie, Forrest Gump:

Why is it worth knowing?

It is a good quote to remember especially in a situation where things don’t go as planned and people feel discouraged.  It reminds people that most unpleasant surprises and changes are something beyond their control and happens to everyone.  Although William Hesselline sounds cynical, cynical people are needed in this world to keep everyone aware of reality.

This is a link to a blog post that I think can be of help to people who want to learn how to accept and adapt to the world:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/john-tsilimparis/extreme-acceptance-the-x-_b_1001708.html

Leave a Reply

