My family’s immigration story

From 1989 to 1995, my father worked for Nestle as the marketing manager in South Korea.  As Nestle is and was an international company, he had many opportunities to travel to different countries including Switzerland, Hong Kong, Italy, Australia and France.  He was able to gain various experiences with the workers at the different Nestle bases.    My mother was at that time serving as a missionary in Russia in an emergency hospital.  Therefore she was also able to meet people from many different countries in her missionary team.

 

Through those experiences my parents both gained a cross-cultural mindset.  Back in South Korea, after the two met and married, they realized they had the same heart for serving and helping needy people in countries outside of Korea.  So with that purpose my dad quit his stable job and took my mom and older brother, whom was only a year old at that time, to Canberra, Australia in 1995.  There both my mother and father received missionary training at the YWAM base; a place filled with numerous people of different races and cultures, all training and learning together.  During those years my parents and brother visited several underdeveloped places like Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand, serving and helping the people in need.  Back in Australia while working in the training centre, I was born.

To develop a new ministry in teaching Christian worldview my parents decided to move to Canada, arriving on the first month of the year 2000.  They originally planned to stay for only two years.  During those years in Canada my father studied Christian Worldview at Trinity Western University while working there as a staff in aiding international students.  Through the job he was able to obtain opportunities in helping new immigrants to the area.

Meanwhile my mother volunteered in my brother’s school which allowed her to also help the new immigrant parents of my brother’s schoolmates to adjust to their new lives.  As she helped many new immigrants she learned what those particular people needed in settling in this country — literally and also emotionally.  Later she and my dad realized the country which they wanted to work and serve in was Canada; a country filled with new immigrants in need of assistance.  They felt the cross-cultural ministry was vital in Canada and therefore applied for permanent residence, deciding to stay.

 

Leave a comment